Greetings from newly elected Council President

A New Year cycle at Christ the King has started with the election of new members for our council and Nominating and Audit Committees at the first part of our Annual Meeting last Sunday, Feb. 5. We welcome in new council officers and members: Isaac van Bruggen, Adam Miller, Joel Hoeger, Anna Grimm, Cheri Aldridge, Brett Kosec, Annalise Scamehorn, and Jessica Kennedy; new Nominating Committee members Roger Bloomquist, Dale Erickson, Jeanne Nelson, George Seju, and Alija Triviski; and new Audit Committee member Phil Burfeind. I would also like to take a moment to thank continuing council members Priscilla Berg, Nick Clark, and Robert Moreno. While I am sure many of the just elected persons are still wondering what they got themselves into, there will be many opportunities and items to discuss in the days, weeks, and months ahead.

Finally, I want share a special thanks for and say goodbye to council officers who have now completed their terms: Kristen Goligowski, Kristine Frost, Kirk Kleckner, Joann Knuth, Jacob Stenstrom, and Erika Krahn. Thank you for good and faithful work!

Please welcome the new committed and council members as you see them and especially thank the outgoing members of the committees and their families for their services. 

In addition to these elections, members at Sunday meeting also unanimously passed the 2017 Budget for Ministry and the proposed updates to the CtK Constitution and By-Laws. The recommended updates from the synod and CtK Council were sent out to the membership for review ahead of this vote.

The high attendance was appreciated by the leadership and shows us all that there is genuine interest in what goes on at CtK. I hope you—CtK Members—will continue to be engaged with the work and ministry of CtK. We want to know your thoughts, ideas, likes, and yes, even your dislikes. Anyone involved with life at CtK is welcome to attend council meetings which are held at 6:00 p.m. on the third Tuesday of every month. Our next meeting will be held at CtK on Tuesday, Feb. 21 at 6:00 p.m.

Thank you for your continued participation in life at CtK!

Mark Chace, Council President

For more on the council, visit lifeatctk.org/council

For more on the 2017 Budget for Ministry, newly elected committed and council members, and other information discussed at Annual Meeting on Feb. 5, visit lifeatctk.org/annualmeeting